Vincent Laforet’s Blog


Great Firewall of China and Whac-A-Mole…
August 9, 2008, 4:59 pm
Filed under: Olympics

THIS BLOG HAS FOUND A NEW HOME–TO READ THE MOST CURRENT VERSION OF THIS POST AND TO LEAVE COMMENTS PLEASE GO TO:

http://blog.vincentlaforet.com/2008/08/09/great-firewall-of-china-and-whac-a-mole/

It’s been ridiculously difficult to access my e-mail let alone my blog (or any blog for that matter) in China – they’re all blocked.

Particularly in my hotel it seems.   Every VPN I set up works for a day and then gets blocked – same goes for utilities that I download to work with my web browser(s).   I’m convinced that there’s some Chinese ISP technician (or worse the Chines Gov’t) that  I’m playing an endless game of Whac-A-Mole with – and I’m on the receiving end and losing!

So I apologize for not getting back to many of your comments.  I’ll keep trying to figure out a way – or at least to stay ahead.   I am reading every single one of your comments as they come to me as e-mail  – and BIG thanks for the encouragement, and kind words.  Keeps me going… when I get a chance to both connect and have a little time – I’ll fire off some responses.  So keep them coming – they’re not going unnoticed!

I’ll never take my “internet freedom” for granted again.
Vince



Picture of the Day: August 9, 2008
August 9, 2008, 4:55 pm
Filed under: Olympics
© Vincent Laforet for Newsweek

© Vincent Laforet for Newsweek

THIS BLOG HAS FOUND A NEW HOME–TO READ THE MOST CURRENT VERSION OF THIS POST AND TO LEAVE COMMENTS PLEASE GO TO:

http://blog.vincentlaforet.com/2008/08/09/picture-of-the-day-august-9-2008/

Our photographer, Vincent Laforet, had never shot fencing before today. Even though he fenced as a youngster, he’d never, until today, pointed his camera at the sport. I’ve selected this picture as Picture of the Day as an example of a sports photographer seeing the “bigger picture” and taking a visual step back in order to make a superb photograph.



Gymnasts and Photographers Practice During Preliminaries…
August 9, 2008, 4:48 pm
Filed under: Olympics
© Vincent Laforet for Newsweek

© Vincent Laforet for Newsweek

THIS BLOG HAS FOUND A NEW HOME–TO READ THE MOST CURRENT VERSION OF THIS POST AND TO LEAVE COMMENTS PLEASE GO TO:

http://blog.vincentlaforet.com/2008/08/09/gymnasts-and-photographers-practice-during-preliminaries/

Today I made a quick stop by the men’s Team Gymnastics preliminaries  – doesn’t hurt to brush up on your Gymnastics shooting once every FOUR years ;)….more