Vincent Laforet’s Blog


Day of Firsts
August 22, 2008, 2:27 pm
Filed under: Olympics
Photograph by Vincent Laforet for NEWSWEEK

Photograph by Vincent Laforet for NEWSWEEK

THIS BLOG HAS FOUND A NEW HOME–TO READ THE MOST CURRENT VERSION OF THIS POST AND TO LEAVE COMMENTS PLEASE GO TO:

http://blog.vincentlaforet.com/2008/08/22/438/

Today, for the first time ever,  a gold medal was handed out in BMX at the Olympics.
It was also:
The first time that I saw a perfectly clear sunset in Beijing.
The first time that I was able to sit down for lunch at our hotel.
The first time that I took a nice mid-day nap.
The first time that I experienced a completely random act of kindness: a volunteer walked up to me out of the blue and gave me two Olympic bracelets.
The first time that I’ve made it two weeks without the need of antibiotics to fight off a sever cold or flu at the Olympics.
The first time that I did not have to run in a mad dash to catch the bus at the end of the day.

And today was the first time that I can see the light at the end of the tunnel.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I was on holyday for a week, and I can’t read your post, but I arrived home yesterday, and it was a great hour to read your posts.
I so like them, and the photos to, Its a great pleasure to read what is in your mind.
THX

Comment by Csanadim

Great lens tilt shot at BMX — how to make lemonade when all they’ve given you are lemons in terms of venue and shooting positions. I think lens shifts for sports mostly tend to overly diminish the athletes and action — table-top model effect not good, e.g., shooting track and field. But you made it work brilliantly here!

Comment by jim hogg

This blog is definitely very educational and involving.

Comment by seksszop




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

