Vincent Laforet’s Blog


TECH TIPS II
August 3, 2008, 8:54 am
Filed under: Tech Tips

THIS BLOG HAS FOUND A NEW HOME–TO READ THE MOST CURRENT VERSION OF THIS POST AND TO LEAVE COMMENTS PLEASE GO TO:

http://blog.vincentlaforet.com/2008/08/03/tech-tip/

One of the most useful utilities I use is a free utility called iStat Menus.  It does a number of things – but the most important to me is to show me what my network activity is.  If I hook onto a WIFI spot – and I only see data going up (and nothing coming back) I know the connection is dead or blocked.  It also helps when you’re on deadline and don’t know if you connection is dead, or just really slow…

Continue reading

Speak Up! – “The Cloud is Falling”
August 3, 2008, 8:24 am
Filed under: Active Discussions

THIS BLOG HAS FOUND A NEW HOME–TO READ THE MOST CURRENT VERSION OF THIS POST AND TO LEAVE COMMENTS PLEASE GO TO:

http://blog.vincentlaforet.com/2008/08/03/discuss-the-cloud-is-falling-2/

One of the things I’d really like to accomplish with this blog is to start up an ongoing discussion on some of the themes and ideas I presented in the “Cloud is Falling” article.   I’ve already heard from a few hundred of you via e-mail – and it looks like a solid bet that there will be some sort of “workshop” or gathering as result – perhaps as early as this fall.

I’ve already had some pretty excellent people offer to participate – editors, publishers, agents, and photographers – not to mention some of the authors behind the blogs that have influenced me… Continue reading