Vincent Laforet’s Blog


Last Minute Note To Photographers Heading to The Games
August 5, 2008, 12:55 pm
Filed under: Olympics

THIS BLOG HAS FOUND A NEW HOME–TO READ THE MOST CURRENT VERSION OF THIS POST AND TO LEAVE COMMENTS PLEASE GO TO:

http://blog.vincentlaforet.com/2008/08/05/last-minute-note-to-photographers-heading-to-the-games/

I am fortunate enough to be working with an assistant during the Beijing Olympic Games.   He flew out yesterday with some of the gear I had shipped to him so that we could split up what we were bringing and not get killed with excess baggage expenses… here’s the important note to photographers who have not yet made it out there:  the Chinese customs opened every case of gear – and inspected EVERY single piece of gear by hand… luckily enough – we had made sure to go our local Chinese Embassy and get the proper “Equipment Confirmation Letter” stamped (a list of your equipment, value, and serial number (in TRIPLICATE)) – although it took 2 days to get the letter.. it was worth it!

Continue reading

Off To The Airport
August 5, 2008, 9:56 am
Filed under: Note
I'll be on a 747 (seen here at JFK) for 18 hours!!!! Image ©Vincent Laforet

I'll be on a 747 for 18 hours!!! Image ©Vincent Laforet

THIS BLOG HAS FOUND A NEW HOME–TO READ THE MOST CURRENT VERSION OF THIS POST AND TO LEAVE COMMENTS PLEASE GO TO:

http://blog.vincentlaforet.com/2008/08/05/off-to-the-airport/

I’m off to the airport to get on my flight(s) to Beijing… if you don’t hear from me within 48 hours – well then perhaps I’m a victim of the “Great Firewall of China” – but I think I’m prepared to overcome that and post away… thanks for the great response to the blog so far (over 9,000 visits OMFG what have I started!?!?)  Plenty more to come…

A little side bet – how many pills will it take to knock me out?  Trying to sleep through the early part of the flight so that I get on “Beijing Time” – 12 hours (exactly opposite sked yipee…”   What say you?



TECH TIP III
August 5, 2008, 9:30 am
Filed under: Tech Tips

THIS BLOG HAS FOUND A NEW HOME–TO READ THE MOST CURRENT VERSION OF THIS POST AND TO LEAVE COMMENTS PLEASE GO TO:

http://blog.vincentlaforet.com/2008/08/05/tech-tip-iii/

Need to resize images for your Blog every day?   Need to send 10,000 images out to a client at a certain size – and then a second batch in a different size and format?   If you’re like me – you hate doing repetitive tasks on a computer – after all that’s why you bought the darn thing thing for in the first place! (Oh – and did I mention you didn’t need to buy anything to get this done…) Continue reading



From PDN “Nadav Kander”
August 5, 2008, 8:20 am
Filed under: Articles

THIS BLOG HAS FOUND A NEW HOME–TO READ THE MOST CURRENT VERSION OF THIS POST AND TO LEAVE COMMENTS PLEASE GO TO:

http://blog.vincentlaforet.com/2008/08/05/from-pdn-nadav-kander-2/

If you haven’t already – check out Nadav Kander’s site – and his recent work (nod to Daryl Land at PDN for featuring this)- he is widely accepted to be one of the most influential commercial (and fine art) photographers today.   Not only is he a great person to meet (he’s one of the photographers my agent Stockland Martel represents) – he’s also managed to accomplish a rare thing these days:  to balance the needs of his commercial clients without losing his own personal vision and style.  I am a huge fan of his work and very much look up to him.  Check out “The Parade” under his “work” category and pretty mush anything else on his site.



What The Duck
August 5, 2008, 7:58 am
Filed under: WhatTheDuck
©WhatTheDuck

©WhatTheDuck

THIS BLOG HAS FOUND A NEW HOME–TO READ THE MOST CURRENT VERSION OF THIS POST AND TO LEAVE COMMENTS PLEASE GO TO:

http://blog.vincentlaforet.com/2008/08/05/what-the-duck/

Edward Suhadi sent me this WhatTheDuck comic strip with a “Cloud is Falling” them this morning… I must admit to have missed this one – although I do read this strip every single day.  Thanks Edward!