Vincent Laforet’s Blog


Farewell Beijing – it’s been a “Dream Job” to cover these Olympics
August 24, 2008, 12:14 pm
Filed under: Olympics

THIS BLOG HAS FOUND A NEW HOME–TO READ THE MOST CURRENT VERSION OF THIS POST AND TO LEAVE COMMENTS PLEASE GO TO:

http://blog.vincentlaforet.com/2008/08/24/farewell-beijing-it%E2%80%99s-been-a-%E2%80%9Cdream-job%E2%80%9D-to-cover-these-olympics/

By the time many of your are reading this post, I will be on my way to the airport to catch my flight back to New York City.   The Beijing Olympics will have concluded and thousands of others will be making their way home – some with gold medals, some with memorable images and stories, others with bruised egos and many with goals of practicing for the next four years in order to shave an extra few hundreds of a second off their performances in times for the London games in 2012.   I for one couldn’t be happier.  This has been the best Olympics I’ve experienced – and while the host country has played a good part in this, other factors have been much more instrumental in making this a “great success” as Borat would say. (MORE)


13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It has been a real pleasure reading your blog during the Olympics. I believe you have given more insight in what’s happening behind the scenes than any other Olympic news I’ve read. Thank you for that!

Comment by very

Vincent,
merci pour cette couverture des J.O, j’ai vraiment passé de bons moments en regardant votre blog, et je continuerais à suivre votre travail,

à bientôt,

Fred

Comment by fred ferand

Vincent,

Thanks for all these great photos and stories.It has been a real pleasure to follow the Olympics this way.

Merci!
Wil

Comment by William Westergren

Your Newsweek blog was absolutely incredible — amazing photographs, of course, but all of the behind-the-scenes information (both technical and emotional) made the blog a daily must-read. Thank you so much for sharing. I look forward to hearing more from you here.

Comment by Sarah

Thank you for sharing your experience and your work!! I posted a link on my blog so my readers would see what you created.

Comment by Jayme

Hi Vincent,
Thanks for sharing your journey to Beijing with all of us ! Be the way, how do they say “Not Possible” in Cantonese ? 🙂

I hope you rest a few days !

Jean-Guy (Montréal)

Comment by Jean-Guy

Your blogging was GREAT. As a news photographer myself, your blog was an amazing window into the world of Olympic photographer. Your candor, lessons, humor and great writing were an ispiration to me. I looked forward to reading your blog every day.

Some people define art as work that is not only orignial, but inspires the masses to attempt to reproduce it. Your photography especially your tilt-shift work is that inspiration for me and I’m sure many others.

Comment by anonymous

Thank you for the trip behind the Olympic scenes. You’r blog has been a “must-read” for me and has really given an insight into not only what it’s like being at the olympic games but also how stressfull and demanding it can be to work as a pro photographer. Both dreams of mine.
I think you’r pictures have been excellent and i guess it’s common for photographers to be very demanding on their own work. My favourite pictures was the ones from the 10m diving semi-finals and the tilt-shift pictures of the BMX race, tilt-shift is something you rarely see and it gives a new, quite interesting look.
Thank’s for a great blog, can’t wait for more :).

Comment by Robin

I cannot let it go without thanking you and your mates for the great coverage of the Olympics. It’s been great to come home every night to enjoy every thought and image you have shared with us all. Your post “Time for a Little Introspection” is the best I have read in some quite time, and I feel it has given my photography much more that any other stuff I’ve read on photography in a long time. thanks a lot.

Comment by Rosa

Vincent
BRAVO!! You, Donald and Mike did a fantastic job with a wonderful idea – great work all around under what are difficult enough circumstances..

Hope you are able to enjoy some time with the family and that we can catch up soon!

mdl

Comment by M DAVID LEEDS

I commend you for a fantastic job. I’ve stuck with your blog since the beginning and it has given me such a beautifully complete vision of the Olympics. I’m still amazed at your ability to find the time to give the entries your all. Thank you thank you thank you.

Comment by Michael George

While I watched some of the big events on TV, I didn’t read a single “mainstream” news article about the Olympics. I only read photoblogs. Your Newsweek blog was easily the best one of the games. You guys did an amazing job of telling us what was really going on there. It also included just the right amount of techie stuff for those of us who wanted to know how you made the shots

The photos you guys came away with are incredible and in most cases are really the best of the games. Other photo editors should make note of this, including those from the “pool” groups. Give the photographers the freedom to do what they need to do, and more importantly, what they are capable of doing, and you’ll get your images and more. You guys proved that…you captured every major “headline” event of the games but also got to experiment a bit and make some different photos…the photos most press didn’t have time or were not allowed to do.

Thank you for sacrificing yourself (and sleep) to share this experiment with us.

Comment by Matt Dougherty

I am extremely inspired together with your writing talents neatly as with the layout to your blog. Is this a paid topic or did you modify it yourself? Anyway stay up the nice quality writing, it is rare to look a nice weblog like this one nowadays..

Comment by muscle maximizer




Leave a comment